Store-bought marshmallows ranked worst to best

Gelatin is an important component of a marshmallow. Gelatin is what gives the marshmallow its shape, as well as its chewy, gooey texture (per C&EN). However, gelatin is not vegan, so if you’re looking for a good vegan marshmallow, you’ll want to look for one that doesn’t contain gelatin. Luckily, there are vegan marshmallows, including Dandies Vegan Marshmallows.

These marshmallows have no gelatin, nor do they contain corn syrup, or artificial flavors. They’re a bit more expensive than your typical bag of marshmallows, but they taste surprisingly good, especially for vegan marshmallows.

The flavor of these marshmallows is impeccable. They are sweet and have a strong vanilla flavor. They don’t melt or burn as easily as regular marshmallows, so if you’re hoping to use them for s’mores, they’ll take a bit longer to warm up (via Amazon).

However, according to another reviewer, if you cut them up, they melt faster and you can use them in recipes, such as your own homemade Rice Krispy treats. They’re not the most expensive vegan marshmallows (or marshmallows in general, for that matter), so if you’re looking for a great vegan marshmallow, Dandies Marshmallows are definitely a brand you shouldn’t ignore.

Comments are closed.